The Times of India

Modi government to add 137 EV charging stations on National Highways: Nitin Gadkari

Union Minister for Road Transport and Highways, Nitin Gadkari on Wednesday announced that the Central government has provisioned for 137 to be installed on National Highways.

Gadkari in Rajya Sabha said, “Wayside amenities are to be developed at regular intervals of 30-40 km across Brownfield National Highways and Greenfield Expressways.

Further, he added, “The National Highways Authority of India (NHAI) is developing WSA across Highways and Expressways. Presently, seven WSA facilities are equipped with EV charging stations.”

The existing 7 Electric Vehicle charging stations on India’s National highways are Kurgaon-Allahabad Bypass on NH2, Vallur-Andhra Pradesh on NH176, Gowravaram-Andhra Pradesh on NH 16, Yedehalli- Karnataka on NH40, 2 in Jaipur and 1 in Tamil Nadu.

According to the data by Bureau of Energy Efficiency (BEE), there are around 43 Public Charging Stations operational on 16 National Highways in India.

In February 2021, the provision of EV charging stations became mandatory across all Wayside Amenities (WSA) to be developed.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *